EMS Standards Advisory Board

EMS Standards Board image
The EMS Standards Advisory Board makes strategic recommendations to support high quality emergency medical services in the county and plans for future needs.


  • 6:30 - 8:00 p.m.
  • First Tuesday of each month
  • Harford County Government Building
    2220 Ady Road
    Forest Hill, MD 21050


The all-volunteer board is comprised of five members with expertise from the medical, EMS and business communities, and the Harford County Volunteer Fire and EMS Association. The board is advisory to the county executive and reports directly to Harford County Director of Emergency Services Edward Hopkins.

Duties are to make recommendations on:

  • Providing for and supporting high quality emergency medical services
  • Strategies for efficient and effective services delivery, training and quality assurance
  • Suggesting methods for billing and the collection of fees

The EMS Standards Advisory Board will issue quarterly reports to the county executive and to the director of emergency services. The director will have the ability to create sub-committees to address specific issues as they arise.


  • Chair - John W. Donohue: has more than 35 years of professional experience in emergency services, including 34 years at the Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems, where he most recently was the director of Interagency Incident Planning and Response. Now serving as the deputy director of emergency services for Cecil County, Mr. Donohue is a certified paramedic whose current appointments include chairing the Federal Emergency Management Agency Region III Advisory Council. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Maryland Baltimore County, where he was the first graduate of the Emergency Health Services Program. He is a master’s degree candidate in that program.
  • David Hexter, MD, MPH, FACEP: is board certified in emergency medicine and has served for more than a decade as a member of the Maryland Emergency Medical Services Board. His career includes service as the chairperson of two departments of emergency medicine and as medical director at the Social Security Administration, where his duties included emergency response planning. A Harford County resident, Dr. Hexter is the physician-in-chief for Mid-Atlantic Permanente Medical Group’s Baltimore Service Area. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Amherst College and medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania. He completed a residency and research fellowship in emergency medicine at the Johns Hopkins University.
  • Tami Wiggins: has more than 23 years of experience in Harford County’s Department of Emergency Services. She is the manager of the Training and Quality Assurance Branch and has spoken nationally and internationally to emergency professionals as an expert on personnel management, dispatch protocol procedures and quality assurance. She was integral to the county’s 911 Communication Center becoming the nation’s first Tri-Accredited Center of Excellence. She has been active in the volunteer fire and EMS services for more than 30 years, with experience as a provider of basic and advanced life support. Ms. Wiggins manages the county’s paramedic team and ambulance units.
  • William J. Dousa Jr.: has held several leadership positions within the Harford County Volunteer Fire and EMS Association, which recommended him to the county executive as its representative on the board. Mr. Dousa has served the citizens of Harford County for more than 48 years as a volunteer firefighter, advanced life support provider and administrator. He is a life member of both the Abingdon and Joppa-Magnolia VFCs, where he also held numerous leadership positions. He served seven years as chairperson of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association Emergency Services Committee and was the organization’s Firefighter of the Year in 1989, the Josiah A. Hunt EMS Person of the Year in 2008, and is a Hall of Fame member. He holds a bachelor of science in engineering from the Johns Hopkins University and is retired after 50 years with the U.S. Army Research Laboratory. 
  • Lawrence A. Richardson Jr., Esq.: is a Harford County resident with more than 30 years of experience working with business and government agencies in Maryland and Washington, D.C., who is the policy director for legislative affairs for Harford County Government. He is the former vice president of government affairs for the Maryland Chamber of Commerce, and served for two decades as a government affairs representative for State Farm Insurance in Maryland and the District of Columbia. Mr. Richardson graduated cum laude from the University of Baltimore with a B.A. in political science/government and public administration and earned his law degree from the University of Baltimore.